Alumni Award for Scientific Excellence

The Alumni Award for Scientific Excellence is awarded to an alum substantially involved in public health research and whose work reflects a commitment to improving population health. 

Nomination Process:

  • Nominations for the award should include a curriculum vitae and a detailed discussion of the accomplishments that merit this recognition.
  • Copies or reprints of articles that illustrate the investigator's significant contributions should be provided.
  • It is suggested that evidence of national recognition for the nominee's accomplishments also be provided.
  • Self-nominations ARE accepted
  • Call for nominations has been extended until Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Award will be presented at the Alumni Awards luncheon on April 21, 2020 at the UAB Alumni House

A selection committee comprised of three public health investigators from within the UAB School of Public Health will review submissions. 

This award will not necessarily be awarded each year.

Please submit nominations to the School of Public Health at with the subject line "Alumni Award for Scientific Excellence". 

  • 2015 Karen B. Fowler, DrPH
  • 2014 Muktar Hussan Aliyu, MD, MPH, DrPH
  • 2013 – Charles N. Rotimi, PhD
  • 2009 – Cora E. Lewis, MD, MSPH
  • 2008 – Lee M.E. Morin, MD, PhD, MPH
  • 2007 – Steven Piantadosi, MD, PhD
  • 2006 – Lynn Wagenknecht, DrPH