Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


ODEI Events

We are committed to fostering a community and culture that embraces diversity, equity, and inclusion. As faculty, staff, and students in the UAB School of Public Health, we will ensure that in our pursuit of excellence in education, research, and service, that we embody our mission and our values in all that we do.


Diversity Dashboard


We have the lowest in-state tuition among 6 regional schools of public health in Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, and Louisiana. That means more savings for you!


Our Online Students pay in-state tuition.




UAB is the only CEPH (Council on Education for Public Health) accredited school of public health in Alabama.

775 students are enrolled in our bachelors, masters, and doctorate programs.



Faculty Sex Ratio is 1:1

1 out of every 3 faculty members belong to a minority group.

5 out of 10 students belong to a minority group.

1 out of 10 students are international, representing 31 countries.






Dear SOPH Students, Faculty, and Staff, The UAB SOPH Diversity Committee is dedicated to remedying issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion for our students, staff, and faculty. As members of the SOPH community, we want to reaffirm our commitment to its core values of diversity and inclusion. Core values represent the essence of who we are and these values do not change. In the face of intolerance, racism, sexism, ableism, classism, Islamophobia, antisemitism, heterosexism, and transphobia, we resolve that our words and actions will uphold our core values. We encourage you to get involved and become active in your campus community and your local community. In the meantime, we will continue to advocate on your behalf and work to ensure that the SOPH community exemplifies our core values of diversity and inclusion.

Members of the committee:

  • Dr. Ela Austin (BST)
  • Mr. Richard Bennett (Office of Academic Affairs)
  • Dr. April P. Carson (EPI and Dean's Office)
  • Dr. Matthew Fifolt (HCOP)
  • Ms. Paulisha Holt (EHS)
  • Ms. Aysha Rasool (HCOP)
  • Ms. Victoria Williams (HCOP)

In 2019, the Student Advisory Board was formed.
Current members are:

  • Sarah Black
  • Alison Footman
  • Ja'Voris Hubbard
  • Jessica McKenzie
  • Clementino Rosario
  • Shreya Saxena
  • Emma-Kate Sellers
  • Leah Grace Simmons


What is the difference between diversity, equity, and inclusion?

  • Diversity refers to the variety of personal experiences, values, and worldviews that arise from differences of culture and circumstances. Differences include race, ethnicity, gender, age, religion, language, abilities/disabilities, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, geographic region, and more.
  • Equity refers to the guarantee of fair treatment, access, opportunity, and advancement, while at the same time identifying and eliminating barriers that prevent the full participation of marginalized groups.
  • Inclusion refers to the act of creating environments in which any individual or group can feel welcome, respected, supported, and valued. An inclusive climate embraces differences and offers respect in words and actions.

How do I know who is Safe Zone certified?

  • Faculty and staff will display the safe zone symboloutside their classroom or office door.

How I report an event anonymously?